Only Me and Me

慢慢看就知道了

Spring Schedule – overshooting? [Life at Stanford]

Temporarily set to take 3 courses for the Spring Quarter:
 
CS 155 Computer and Network Securtiy
CS 346 Database System Implementation
EE 364 Convex Optimization
 
The good thing is all 3 courses are gonna be really interesting, either the material or the instructor or both. John Mitchell of CS155 and Stephen Boyd of EE 364 are guaranteed to make you laugh at least 3 times per lecture. Jennifer Widom of CS 346 is renowned for her toughness in regulating the class, but aside from the fact that we are only allowed to miss 2 lectures total, I found her pretty nice and reasonable. Since I have technically already completed my degree last quarter, all the courses I am taking this quarter are solely interest-oriented. So that makes sure I am investing my time and money in the places where I believe worthwhile. Is it a terribly sad thing to take classes just for the purpose of getting a degree? I very much believe so.
 
The bad news is the workload might probably be the heaviest ever. I found myself always repeating 2 things at the beginning of each quarter: 1. This quarter is gonna be even tougher, and 2. There are too many courses I would like to take. Sadly, both cliches come to truth yet again.
 
CS 346 has 4 projects, which requires approximately 10,000 lines of code to complete. For those who are not familiar with the metric, that’s, a lot.
 
I thought originally EE 364 is fun but not that hardcore. But later when I was chatting with Nelson, he warned me that don’t think auto-piloting will get you through the course.
 
I haven’t heard anything concrete from a peer about CS 155. But John Mitchell made quite serious that the projects will require some significant amount of work (~47 something hours per project).
 
That, plus my RAship, makes my last quarter at Stanford yet another ‘miserable’ one.
 
Then there is the issue of ‘oh, look, there are more interesting courses offered’.
 
Oh, boy, forget about them.
 
Also have some things to do outside the classroom, like applying for graduation, getting the Visa for visiting back to China, and maybe inviting people to the commencement.
 
……
 
So I will stop writing right here.

5 responses to “Spring Schedule – overshooting? [Life at Stanford]

  1. Guan April 5, 2006 at 11:48 pm

    I\’m so glad to see your spring schedule.
    New quarter, new schedule, new beginning!
    By the way, you have the plan to come back to China?

  2. Demon April 6, 2006 at 12:29 am

    Yep, I will come back for roughly a month this summer.

  3. Swing April 6, 2006 at 8:46 pm

    getting the Visa for visiting back to China…..
     
    哎~~

  4. Demon April 6, 2006 at 8:58 pm

    汗,我也想省点麻烦,可是没办法,总不能偷渡过来。

  5. hui April 7, 2006 at 2:14 am

    早上去了马来西亚的签证中心去签证 填张表 交了张照片 3个工作日 一切就都OK了 方便呀 哈哈 不过如果签不出来可就惨了:(我机票宾馆我都已经定好了

Leave a Reply

