Only Me and Me

慢慢看就知道了

That river 6 of clubs

 
Intern cash game, last hand.  I got pocket 7’s, Jeff raised to $1.50, I called, Ormen called. 3 of us went to the flop.
 
Flop came Q of spades, 3 of spades, 7 of clubs.  I hit a set.  Jeff checked, I decided to slow play my set (I was pretty much sure at this point that I would go All-In in this hand, so I decided to wait.  I had the instinct that I was having the best hand at that moment, and both of them were on some kind of draw at the best.), so I checked.  Ormen checked as well.
 
Turn came J of clubs, Jeff bet $2.5.  I of course pushed All-In, knowing he is on either a straight draw or a flush draw.
 
Ormen was not entertained by my raise and started talking trash, during which he waved his hands around to bettter express his emotion and accidentally knocked 3 cards on top of the deck off the table.  I immediately felt uncomfortable with that, but the rule is these 3 cards are treated as burned and we would deal the very next card as the river.
 
Ormen finally decided to fold.  Jeff called my All-In and showed AK of clubs.  He is on a flush draw and a straight draw. So both of us made the right play and the right call, and it’s a matter of who had a better luck.
 
The river came out to be 6 of clubs.  Jeff hit his flush and I lost all my money.
 
The only problem was that it turned out the 3 cards Ormen knocked off the table would all miss Jeff and I would have won the hand if that accident hadn’t happened.
 
I left without saying much.  Poker is like evrey other things in your life.  There is effort, there is luck, and there is accident. 
 
If you decide to play the game of poker or the game of life (by "game", I mean more like a "race" or a "competition"), there are only 2 ways to avoid an accident.
 
1. Muck your hand early.
2. Be ready to take the hit.
 
In fact, method 2 does not prevent accident from happening.  It’s just that you know you won’t fall apart whether or not you or someone else hit that river 6 of clubs.
 
========================================================================================
 
头发又长了 : )
 

 
 
 
 
 

5 responses to “That river 6 of clubs

  1. miaomiao July 16, 2007 at 2:49 am

    move on ba.

  2. 小狗儿 July 16, 2007 at 6:16 pm

    小鬼在沉思么?
     
     
    毛帅。。
     

  3. hui July 18, 2007 at 4:15 am

    真是招牌动作亚

  4. Mira July 20, 2007 at 3:28 am

    nice books~

  5. Demon July 23, 2007 at 1:34 am

     
    @ miaomiao: Hehe, shouldn\’t have written that in the first place.
     
    @ XN: 就一个pose,that\’s all.
     
    @ Irene: 嗯,不错。
     
    @ Mira: Yeah. Can you actually read the titles?
     

Leave a Reply

